Academic partners

Fachhochschule Bielefeld

The Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences, with its research and development focus on Applied Mathematical Modeling and Optimization (AMMO) of the Department of Engineering and Mathematics participates in the project. The research focus AMMO has a broad spectrum of experience in the field of symbolic and numerical treatment of differential-algebraic systems of equations and their applications in the Modelica environments.

Technische Universität Braunschweig

The Technical University of Braunschweig is represented in the project by the Institute of Thermodynamics (IfT). As part of the project, the IfT provides support through its expertise in the field of simulation technology, especially in the modelling of thermal systems and in the methodology for model order reduction. The use cases of the derived “proper models” range from the design/optimization of thermal systems to real-time analysis.

Universität Augsburg

The University of Augsburg is represented in the project by the Chair of Mechatronics as part of the Faculty of Applied Computer Science. The main focus of its research lies within AI-assisted simulation, especially Hybrid Models and AI-based extrapolation. As a result, advancing these techniques enables AI-enhanced digital twins.


Industry partners

ESI ITI GmbH

LTX Simulation GmbH

As an engineering company for system simulation based in Munich, LTX supports its customers in the development of Modelica models. Together with partner companies TLK-Thermo and XRG, we focus on thermal energy systems. LTX supports its customers in selecting the right system simulation solutions based on Modelica, FMI and Dymola. One goal is to efficiently combine existing Modelica models with machine learning methods.

Modelon Deutschland GmbH

Modelon is a leading provider of model libraries and simulation tools. Based on Modelica’s open-standard technology, the component libraries developed for industry domains such as energy, automotive and aerospace offer an easily extendable toolbox of physical models. Modelon’s web-based platform Modelon Impact enables development of new technology and complex systems through transient and steady-state simulations and optimization.

Robert Bosch GmbH

The Robert Bosch Group is leading supplier of technologies and services. As Tier 1 automotive supplier the application of model-based approaches and simulation techniques plays a central role in the product and software development.

TLK-Thermo GmbH

TLK-Thermo GmbH combines in a unique way comprehensive thermodynamic expertise with many years of experience in the areas of software development, simulation and testing technology. Among other things, we offer our customers platform-independent software in the areas of modeling, simulation, interoperability and visualization. Machine learning and model reduction methods enable the development of fast and robust novel simulation models of thermal systems.

XRG Simulation GmbH

XRG Simulation GmbH is specialised in employing system models and numerical simulation in order to answer requests related to complex energy management systems. Our key competence is the dynamics of (sector-) coupled energy supply systems including their control. We support our customers with services and dedicated software solutions in the fields of aircrafts, automotive industry, buildings, energy supply systems and power plants. By participating in research and development projects we continuously extend our product portfolio and field of activity. Consequently our customers benefit from a direct transfer of current knowledge to the practice. For the electric mobility sector optimisation of air-conditioning and thermal management provides a large potential for increasing the driving range. Here machine learning is an innovative approach to deploy complex system models across different platforms - from a workstation down to real time hardware-in-the loop applications.

Akademische Partner

Fachhochschule Bielefeld

Die Fachhochschule Bielefeld nimmt mit ihrem Forschungs- und Entwicklungsschwerpunkt Angewandte Mathematische Modellierung und Optimierung (AMMO) des Fachbereichs Ingenieurwissenschaften und Mathematik am Projekt teil. Der Forschungsschwerpunkt AMMO verfügt über ein breites Spektrum an Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet der symbolischen und numerischen Behandlung von differential-algebraischen Gleichungssystemen im Modelica-Umfeld.

Technische Universität Braunschweig

Die Technische Universität Braunschweig wird im Projekt durch das Institut für Thermodynamik (IfT) vertreten. Im Rahmen des Projekts unterstützt das IfT durch seine Expertise im Bereich der Simulationstechnik v.a. in der Modellierung thermischer Systeme und in der Methodik zur Modellreduktion. Die Anwendungsfälle der im Rahmen des Projekts abgeleiteten „Proper Models“ reichen von der Auslegung/Optimierung thermischer Systeme bis hin zur Echtzeitanalyse.

Universität Augsburg

Die Universität Augsburg wird im Projekt durch den Lehrstuhl für Mechatronik als Teil der Fakultät für angewandte Informatik repräsentiert. Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten zählt die KI-gestützte Simulation, bei der insbesondere auf hybride Modelle und KI-basierte Extrapolation gesetzt wird. Durch das Vorantreiben dieser beiden Techniken werden KI-angereicherte digitale Zwillinge ermöglicht.


Industriepartner

ESI ITI GmbH

LTX Simulation GmbH

Als Ingenieurbüro für Systemsimulation mit Sitz in München unterstützt LTX seine Kunden bei der Entwicklung von Modelica–Modellen. Gemeinsam mit den Partnerfirmen TLK-Thermo und XRG liegt der Schwerpunkt auf thermischen Energiesystemen. LTX unterstützt seine Kunden bei der Auswahl und dem Aufbau ihrer Systemsimulationslösungen auf der Basis von Modelica, FMI und Dymola. Ein Ziel ist, bestehende Modelica-Modelle mit Methoden maschinellen Lernens effizient zu vereinen.

Modelon Deutschland GmbH

Modelon ist ein führender Anbieter von Modelbibliotheken und Simulationstools für physikalische Systeme. Basierend auf den offenen Standards der Modelica Sprache bieten Modelon’s Bibliotheken umfassende, einfach zu erweiternde physikalische Modelle für Anwendungsgebiete wie z.B. Energie, Automotive, Luft- und Raumfahrt. Die Web-basierte Plattform Modelon Impact ermöglicht die transiente und stationäre Simulation und Optimierung der Systeme zur Entwicklung neuer Technologien und komplexer Systeme.

Robert Bosch GmbH

Die Robert Bosch Gruppe ist ein führender Zulieferer für Technologien und Dienstleistungen. Insbesondere als führender Zulieferer der Automobilindustrie spielt der Einsatz modellbasierter Methoden und Simulationstechniken in der Produkt- und Softwareentwicklung eine zentrale Rolle.

TLK-Thermo GmbH

Die TLK-Thermo GmbH vereint in besonderer Weise ein umfassendes thermodynamisches Expertenwissen mit einer langjährigen Erfahrung in den Bereichen Softwareentwicklung, Simulation und Prüfstandstechnik. Unter anderem bieten wir unseren Kunden pattformunabhängige Software in den Bereichen Modellierung, Simulation, Interoperabilität und Visualisierung an. Methoden des maschinellen Lernens und der Modellreduktion ermöglichen die Entwicklung schneller und robuster neuartiger Simulationsmodelle thermischer Systeme.

XRG Simulation GmbH

XRG Simulation GmbH ist spezialisiert darauf, komplexe energietechnische Fragestellungen durch Modellierung und numerische Simulation zu beantworten. Unser Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf dem Zeitverhalten (sektor-)gekoppelter Energieversorgungssysteme und deren Regelung. Wir sind in den Bereichen Flugzeugbau, Automotive, Gebäude, Energieversorgung und Kraftwerkstechnik aktiv und unterstützen unseren Kunden sowohl mit Dienstleistungen als auch mit der Entwicklung spezialisierter Softwareprodukte. Durch die Mitarbeit in Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten erweitern wir kontinuierlich unser Produktportfolio und Tätigkeitsfeld und ermöglichen so den unmittelbaren Transfer neuer Erkenntnisse in die Praxis unserer Kunden. Im Bereich der Elektromobilität ergibt sich für die Reichweitenoptimierung ein erhebliches Potenzial im Bereich der Fahrzeugklimatisierung und im Thermomanagement. Hier bietet maschinelles Lernen einen innovativen Zugang für die plattformübergreifende Nutzung komplexer Anwendungsmodelle von der Workstation bis hin zur echtzeitfähigen Hardware-In-The-Loop Anwendung.